a musical or vocal sound with reference to its pitch, quality, and strength.

Lately I’ve been thinking deeply about what tone means in the context of professional interactions, both successful and unsuccessful. It’s a personal demon of mine that comes forth in that elusive moment when passion outweighs patience in a conversation and I’ve lost sight of what’s motivating the other people in the conversation. After all, if I needed to talk to people with my perspective I could just sit in front of the mirror but that would be pretty weird and not at all productive. Not to taking anything away from “looking in the mirror” from time to time because after all that’s more or less what I’m doing with this post.

the general character or attitude of a place, piece of writing, situation, etc.

So, tone. Yeah, tone. Tone is what makes all the difference in how music is expressed. It’s infinitely adjustable and therefore wide open to interpretation and finding what works best for you. I find that different tones are appropriate for different feels to the nature of a song but I’ve yet to make that conscious daily connection to how I speak with others and leverage a similar “EQ” as situations change.

Go put on some music that makes you feel good and / or makes you think. Have a good one.

I’m going back to uncovering more of life’s mysteries… one sarcastic viewpoint at a time because that’s really all I can handle.

